Quick answer: A barista course in India usually means one of four things. SCA Coffee Skills Program courses (Barista Skills at Foundation, Intermediate and Professional level) give you an internationally recognised certificate; Bengaluru providers list them at roughly ₹24,000–₹36,000 for Foundation and Intermediate (checked October 2026). Short café or academy courses (often one or two days) teach practical espresso and milk skills but are not SCA certificates. The Coffee Board of India runs a five-day roasting, brewing and retailing programme, Kaapi Shastra, at ₹15,000 + GST. The Q Grader licence, run by the SCA since 1 October 2025, is a six-day course for experienced cuppers, not a beginner barista course. Confirm any “SCA-certified” claim in the SCA’s own course finder before you pay.
Below: the course types in India, listed fees and durations, how to choose, red flags and career paths. If you are still deciding whether café work is for you, start with our guide on how to become a barista. For a global comparison of credentials, see Coffee Certification in 2026: Courses Compared.
Step 1: Know the Four Types of Barista Training in India
1. SCA Coffee Skills Program courses
The Specialty Coffee Association (SCA) Coffee Skills Program is taught by Authorised SCA Trainers (ASTs). It includes an Introduction to Coffee course and specialist modules (Barista Skills, Brewing, Green Coffee, Roasting and Sensory Skills) at three levels: Foundation, Intermediate and Professional (ARAKU AWSCA). For barista work, Barista Skills is the core module. SCAI in Bengaluru describes Foundation as suitable for learners “with no previous barista experience”, and lists SCA Barista Skills Foundation certification as the prerequisite for Intermediate (SCAI Foundation; SCAI Intermediate). You need a passing mark on both a practical exam and an online theory exam to receive the SCA certificate.
A note on “Premier Training Campus”: this is an SCA designation for training venues that meet SCA facility and equipment standards. The SCA says applications to the programme are currently paused while it is reviewed (SCA). ARAKU describes its Bengaluru academy as “India’s first accredited SCA Premier Training Campus” (ARAKU). However, when we checked the SCA’s official campus map on 20 October 2026 with India selected, it showed no campus markers inside India. Ask any provider to confirm its current status. What matters most for your certificate is that the course is taught by a current AST and listed in the SCA course finder.
2. Q Grader (formerly CQI’s Q Arabica Grader)
Q Grader courses launched under the SCA on 1 October 2025, after the SCA took over management of the programme from the Coffee Quality Institute (SCA announcement). The old CQI “Q Arabica Grader” title is no longer used for new courses. The SCA course runs over six consecutive days with nine assessments (eight practical, one written); you must pass all of them, and the licence is valid for three years, renewed through continued professional development (SCA: Q Grader). The SCA says it is designed for professionals in quality control, sourcing or roasting who already have cupping experience. Our Q Grader certification guide explains the exams in detail.
3. Short café and academy barista courses
Equipment companies, roasters and cafés run their own workshops. These are usually shorter and more flexible, but they do not lead to an SCA certificate unless the provider says so and the course appears in the SCA finder. For example, Kaapi Machines lists a one-day (8-hour) Barista Skills course covering machine and grinder calibration, espresso, the classic menu, basic latte art and cleaning, plus one-day Latte Art and Manual Brewing courses and a two-day Crop-to-Cup workshop (Kaapi Machines). Its training page does not list fees.
4. Coffee Board of India: Kaapi Shastra
The Coffee Board of India, the government body for the coffee sector, runs Kaapi Shastra, a training programme on coffee roasting, brewing and retailing at its Bengaluru head office. It is aimed at roasters, hotel, restaurant and café staff, institutional caterers and entrepreneurs. The Board lists the course fee as ₹15,000 + 18% GST per participant, with a duration of five days; its page lists a batch from 30 November to 4 December 2026 (Coffee Board of India). The page does not describe it as an SCA course, so treat it as a separate, Indian-government programme.
Barista Course Fees in India (2026 Comparison)
Fees below are taken from each provider’s own page, with GST shown exactly as the provider states it. Where no fee is published, the table says “On request”. As of October 2026, check before booking: batches sell out and prices change. Comparing with training abroad? See our barista course fees in the USA, UK and China.
| Provider | City | Course | Duration | Fee (₹, GST as stated) | Certification | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Specialty Coffee Academy of India (SCAI) | Bengaluru | SCA Barista Skills Foundation | 2 days (incl. practical exam) | ₹25,300 incl. GST (₹17,999 option without SCA certification) | SCA | Provider page |
| SCAI | Bengaluru | SCA Barista Skills Intermediate | 2 days (incl. practical exam) | ₹35,899 incl. GST (₹24,999 option without SCA certification) | SCA | Provider page |
| SCAI | Bengaluru | Evolved Q Grader course | 6 days (22–27 June 2026 batch) | ₹1,50,000, tax included | Q Grader (SCA) | Provider page |
| ARAKU World Specialty Coffee Academy (AWSCA) | Bengaluru (Indiranagar) | SCA Barista Skills Foundation / Intermediate / Professional | 8 h (1 day) / 16 h (2 days) / 24 h (3 days) | ₹24,000 / ₹36,000 / ₹45,000 + taxes (₹28,320 / ₹42,480 at checkout) | SCA (Authorised SCA Trainer) | Provider page |
| 93 Degrees Coffee Roasters | Not stated on course page | SCA Barista Skills Foundation / Intermediate / Professional | 1 day / 2 days / 3 days | ₹27,000 / ₹37,000 / ₹51,000 (GST not stated) | SCA (listed as SCA Barista Skills) | Provider page |
| Italian Barista Academy (IBA) | Mumbai (Andheri), Pune, Amritsar, Gujarat centres | SCA Barista Skills Foundation | 2 days (8 hours), 3–6 learners | On request | SCA (Authorised SCA Trainer) | Provider page |
| Coffee Board of India | Bengaluru | Kaapi Shastra (roasting, brewing, retailing) | 5 days | ₹15,000 + 18% GST | Coffee Board (not SCA) | Provider page |
| Takumi Brewing Lab | Bengaluru (JP Nagar) | Barista training, standard batch | 5 days, 15 seats | ₹25,000 + 18% GST (student discount mentioned) | Coffee Board of India certificate on standard batches, per provider; separate in-house TBL course | Provider page |
| Barista Coffee Company | Not stated | Be a Barista physical training programme | 21 days | ₹15,000 + 18% GST | Own certificate | Provider page |
| Kaapi Machines | Not stated on training page | Barista Skills | 8 hours (1 day) | On request | Own (non-SCA) | Provider page |
SCAI’s course list also shows Brewing courses for a Delhi chapter (SCAI). The SCA’s own course finder showed 22 upcoming Coffee Skills Program courses in India in October 2026, taught by several different ASTs, but it shows the location only as “India” on the list and asks you to log in to see the SCA enrolment fee (SCA course finder). Open each course’s details to see the venue.
How to choose a barista course in India
- SCA certificate or in-house certificate. An SCA course should be taught by an Authorised SCA Trainer and appear in the SCA course finder; an in-house or Coffee Board certificate can still be useful, but it is not the same credential. Check whether the quoted fee includes the SCA exam and certificate (SCAI lists separate prices with and without it).
- Machine time per student. Ask how many learners share each espresso machine and grinder, and how many hours of the course are hands-on rather than theory.
- Batch size. Published caps vary, from 3–6 learners (IBA) to 15 seats (Takumi). Smaller batches usually mean more feedback per shot.
- GST and extras. Some fees include GST and some add 18% on top, which changes a ₹36,000 course into ₹42,480. Confirm what covers travel, meals, re-exams and materials.
- Job placement claims. “Placement support” is not a job offer. Ask for named employers and recent placement numbers, and note that IBA says it does not offer direct job placements.
- Practise first. Learning the basics before paying for machine time makes each paid hour count; Pro Coffee Academy’s free guides, such as core barista skills, and its short beginner courses are one way to start.
Step 3: Choose the Right Course for Your Goal
- Decide what the certificate is for. If you want to work in specialty cafés in India or abroad, an SCA Barista Skills certificate is portable and recognised by employers who know the SCA. If you just need practical bar skills for a job you already have, a shorter café course may be enough.
- Start at Foundation unless you already work a bar. SCAI lists Foundation certification as the prerequisite for Intermediate, and ARAKU requires Intermediate before Professional.
- Check what the fee includes. SCAI states its fee includes learning material, the SCA exam and certification, and GST; ARAKU lists its prices “+ Taxes”. Ask whether resits are included: SCAI notes that after two failed attempts you pay a re-exam fee or receive only an SCAI completion certificate.
- Ask about machine time. Ask how many students share each espresso machine and grinder.
- Budget for the whole trip. SCAI says food and accommodation are the learner’s responsibility, and its SCA courses are non-refundable (bookings can be moved to a later batch).
- Keep Q Grader for later. The SCA calls it a course to assess experienced cuppers. Build up through Sensory Skills and real cupping practice first.
Before and after any course, practise the fundamentals in our core barista skills guide so your class time goes on refinement rather than basics.
Step 4: Watch for These Red Flags
- “SCA-certified” with no trainer name. Every SCA course is taught by an AST. Ask for the trainer’s name and look them up in the SCA trainer directory, then find the course in the course finder.
- “Certified” without saying by whom. Some providers call their own modules “certified”. That is not the same as an SCA certificate.
- Accreditation claims you cannot verify. If a provider calls itself an SCA Premier Training Campus, ask when it was accredited and check the SCA campus map.
- Outdated diploma information. Some Indian provider pages still describe a 100-point SCA Coffee Skills Diploma. That system was replaced by SCA Skills Diplomas, explained in our certification guide.
- Job or salary guarantees. No course can guarantee a job or a pay rise; be wary of any provider that promises one.
- Unclear fees. Get the full price in writing, including GST, SCA enrolment, exam and resit fees.
Step 5: Map the Course to a Career Path
| Path | Typical training route | Where it can lead |
|---|---|---|
| Café barista | Barista Skills Foundation, then Intermediate | Head barista, bar trainer, café manager |
| Brewing and menu specialist | Brewing and Sensory Skills modules | Specialty café lead, menu development, competitions |
| Roaster | Roasting and Green Coffee modules (or Kaapi Shastra for an introduction) | Production roaster, roastery quality lead |
| Quality and sourcing | Sensory Skills, cupping practice, then the Q Grader course | The SCA lists coffee quality analyst, green coffee buyer, exporter or importer, sensory specialist and roaster or quality lead |
| Trainer | Advanced certificates plus SCA trainer application | Authorised SCA Trainer teaching courses |
Competing is another way to build a reputation. India’s national championships feed into the world events; see our coffee competitions 2027 guide. If you are drawn to sourcing, understanding labels matters too: our guide to fair trade and single-origin certifications explains what they mean for a coffee career. And if you want to try the basics at home before paying for a course, the free email course is a low-commitment way to start.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a barista course cost in India?
It depends on the type. In October 2026, Bengaluru providers listed SCA Barista Skills Foundation at ₹25,300 including GST (SCAI) or ₹24,000 plus taxes (ARAKU), and Intermediate at ₹35,899 including GST (SCAI) or ₹36,000 plus taxes (ARAKU). Other listed fees ran from ₹15,000 plus 18% GST (Coffee Board’s Kaapi Shastra; Barista Coffee Company’s 21-day programme) to ₹51,000 (93 Degrees, SCA Professional). Some providers list no fee, so ask.
Is an SCA barista certificate valid in India?
Yes. SCA certificates are issued by the Specialty Coffee Association, not by a country, so the same certificate applies in India and abroad. Make sure the course is taught by an Authorised SCA Trainer and appears in the SCA course finder.
Can I do the Q Grader course in India?
Yes. SCAI in Bengaluru listed an Evolved Q Grader course for 22–27 June 2026 at ₹1,50,000 including tax. The SCA says the six-day course is for experienced cuppers, with nine assessments that must all be passed, so it is not a starting point for new baristas.
Does the Coffee Board of India offer barista training?
The Coffee Board runs Kaapi Shastra, a five-day training programme on coffee roasting, brewing and retailing at its Bengaluru head office, for ₹15,000 plus 18% GST. It is aimed at roasters, café and hotel staff, caterers and entrepreneurs, and its page does not describe it as an SCA course.
How long does a barista course take?
Provider pages list SCA Barista Skills Foundation as one day (ARAKU, 8 hours) or two days including the practical exam (SCAI), Intermediate as two days and Professional as three days. Short café courses are often a single day.
Do barista course fees in India include GST?
It depends on the provider. In October 2026, SCAI listed its SCA fees as including GST, while ARAKU, the Coffee Board, Takumi and Barista Coffee Company listed fees with taxes or 18% GST added on top. 93 Degrees did not state GST on its course page, so ask before paying.
Which barista courses in India give an SCA certificate?
SCA certificates come only from SCA Coffee Skills Program courses taught by an Authorised SCA Trainer. In October 2026, SCAI, ARAKU, 93 Degrees and Italian Barista Academy listed SCA Barista Skills courses. The Coffee Board’s Kaapi Shastra and café programmes such as Barista Coffee Company’s issue their own certificates.
Keep Learning
- How to become a barista
- Core barista skills
- Coffee Certification in 2026: Courses Compared
- Q Grader certification guide
- Coffee competitions 2027
- Fair trade and single-origin certifications: career value
Sources
- Specialty Coffee Academy of India. SCA Barista Skills – Foundation – Bengaluru Chapter; SCA Barista Skills – Intermediate; Evolved Q-Grader Course; SCA Courses (fees checked October 2026).
- ARAKU Coffee. SCA Coffee Skills Program: Barista Skills; ARAKU World Specialty Coffee Academy (fees checked October 2026).
- Coffee Board of India. Kaapi Shastra: Training Programme on Coffee Roasting, Brewing & Retailing (checked October 2026).
- Kaapi Machines. Barista Training (checked October 2026).
- Other provider pages (checked 23 October 2026): ARAKU barista skills; 93 Degrees Coffee Roasters: SCA Barista Skills; Italian Barista Academy: Barista Skills – Foundation; Takumi Brewing Lab: Barista Training; Barista Coffee Company: Be a Barista.
- Specialty Coffee Association. Education: Q Grader.
- Specialty Coffee Association (1 October 2025). Q Grader Courses Now Available Across Various Regions and Languages.
- Specialty Coffee Association. Become an SCA Premier Training Campus.
- Specialty Coffee Association. Course finder and campus map (India filter, checked 20 October 2026); CSP Green Coffee – Professional, a Bengaluru roastery’s course listing.
Leave a Reply